

Scottish Parliament Fact sheet

Session 4 MSPs Not Standing or Not Returned in the 2016 Election

9 May 2016

MSPs: Current Series

50 Session 4 MSPs have not returned to the Scottish Parliament in Session 5. They either did not stand as a candidate for re-election, or they stood but were not re-elected.

This fact sheet is divided into two sections. The first section lists those MSPs who stood for reelection but failed to win a seat. The second section lists those MSPs who were serving at the end of Parliamentary Session 4 (23 March 2016) but chose not to stand for re-election.

Abbreviation	Party
Con	Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
Green	Scottish Green Party
Lab	Scottish Labour
LD	Scottish Liberal Democrats
NPA	No Party Affliliation
RISE	RISE – Respect, Independence, Socialism
	and Environmentalism
SNP	Scottish National Party



Session 4 MSPs who stood for re-election in 2016 but failed to win a seat:

NB: The party listed is the party which they stood for in the 2016 election. This may differ to the party they represented during session 4.

MSP	Party	Constituency (C) or Region (R)
Christian Allard	SNP	North East Scotland (R)
Jayne Baxter	Lab	Mid Scotland and Fife (R)
Sarah Boyack	Lab	Edinburgh Central (C) Lothian (R)
Lesley Brennan	Lab	North East Scotland (R)
Chic Brodie	SNP	South Scotland (R)
Roderick Campbell	SNP	North East Fife (C) Mid Scotland and Fife (R)
Nigel Don	SNP	North East Scotland (R)
Jim Eadie	SNP	Edinburgh Southern (C) Lothian (R)
Patricia Ferguson	Lab	Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn (C) Glasgow (R)
Cara Hilton	Lab	Dunfermline (C) Mid Scotland and Fife (R)
Jim Hume	LD	Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire (C) South Scotland (R)
Mike MacKenzie	SNP	Highlands and Islands (R)
Hanzala Malik	Lab	Glasgow (R)
Paul Martin	Lab	Glasgow (R)
Stewart Maxwell	SNP	Eastwood (C) West Scotland (R)
Margaret McCulloch	Lab	Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse (C) Central Scotland (R)
Alison McInnes	LD	North East Scotland (R)
Aileen McLeod	SNP	Galloway and West Dumfries (C) South Scotland (R)
Michael McMahon	Lab	Uddingston and Bellshill (C) Central Scotland (R)
Siobhan McMahon	Lab	Central Scotland (R)
Anne McTaggart	Lab	Glasgow (R)
Elaine Murray	Lab	Dumfriesshire (C) South Scotland (R)
John Pentland	Lab	Motherwell and Wishaw (C) Central Scotland (R)
Dennis Robertson	SNP	Aberdeenshire West (C)
Jean Urquhart	RISE	Highlands and Islands (R)
John Wilson	Green	Central Scotland (R)

Reference: FS1-20

MSPs who were serving at the end of Parliamentary Session 4 but chose not to stand for re-election in 2016:

MSP	Party	Constituency (C) or Region (R)
Marco Biagi	SNP	Edinburgh Central
Gavin Brown	Con	Lothian
Cameron Buchanan	Con	Lothian
Margaret Burgess	SNP	Cunninghame South
Malcolm Chisholm	Lab	Edinburgh Northern and Leith
Alex Fergusson	Con	Galloway and West Dumfries
Rob Gibson	SNP	Caithness, Sutherland and Ross
Annabel Goldie	Con	West Scotland
Hugh Henry	Lab	Renfrewshire South
Adam Ingram	SNP	Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley
Colin Keir	SNP	Edinburgh Western
Kenny MacAskill	SNP	Edinburgh Eastern
Tricia Marwick	NPA	Mid Fife and Glenrothes
Margaret McDougall	Lab	West Scotland
Jamie McGrigor	Con	Highlands and Islands
Fiona McLeod	SNP	Strathkelvin and Bearsden
Duncan McNeil	Lab	Greenock and Inverclyde
Nanette Milne	Con	North East Scotland
Graeme Pearson	Lab	South Scotland
Alex Salmond	SNP	Aberdeenshire East
Mary Scanlon	Con	Highlands and Islands
Dr Richard Simpson	Lab	Mid Scotland and Fife
Drew Smith	Lab	Glasgow
Dave Thompson	SNP	Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch

Reference: FS1-20



RELATED FACT SHEETS

MSPs A-Z Session 4

Contacting the Public Information Service

For more information you can visit our website at www.parliament.scot or contact the Public Information Service.

Address:

Public Information Service

The Scottish Parliament

Edinburgh

EH99 1SP

Telephone:

0131 348 5000

0800 092 7500 (Public Enquiries)

Fòn: 0131 348 5395 (Gàidhlig)

Text: 07786 209888

Textphone users can contact us on 0800 092 7100

Email: sp.info@parliament.scot

©Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body